Political and Legislative

Democrats Introduce a New Voting Rights Bill

A group of Senate Democrats unveiled new voting rights legislation on Tuesday in another attempt by the party to pass sweeping changes to federal elections in the face of a GOP filibuster. 

The new bill, called the Freedom to Vote Act, was released by Sen. Amy Klobuchar (D-Minn.), along with several co-sponsors, including Democratic Sens. Joe Manchin (W.Va.), Tim Kaine (Va.), Jon Tester (Mont.) and Raphael Warnock (Ga.), according to a statement from Klobuchar’s office shared with The Hill. 

The legislation builds on a framework proposed earlier this year by Manchin as well as the sweeping For the People Act, which was blocked in June by Senate Republicans. 

Read the source article at The Hill

    Leave a Review or Comment

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Back to top button